Call for Nominations: O. Max Gardner Award

Date Published: 
August 21, 2017

Murray Webster, chair of the O. Max Gardner Award selection committee, asks for your help in identifying potential faculty nominees for the 2017-2018 O. Max Gardner Award. This award is given annually by the UNC Board of Governors to “that member of the faculty of the University of North Carolina who, during the current scholastic year, has made the greatest contribution to the welfare of the human race.” Please note that nominees can be of any rank, “including instructors, engaged in teaching in any unit, institution or branch of service” in the University system. Attached is a list of past winners of the award, including UNC Charlotte’s own Dr. Pinku Mukherjee and Dr. Diane M. Browder.  Linked here is the announcement of last year's winner, Dr. Ben Bahr of UNC Pembroke.

Please forward the names of nominees to the Faculty Governance Assistant at before 5:00 p.m. on Friday, October 6, 2017. Include in your nomination the individual’s name, rank, and department/unit. Also, please provide a description of this individual’s specific contribution(s) or achievement(s), and their impact on others.

On behalf of the members of the nominating committee (Nominations, Honors, and Awards Committee), thank you in advance for your assistance in providing UNC Charlotte with a strong nominee for this system-wide award.