Faculty Council Cameron Applied Research Center 101 March 20, 2008

Present (ex officio): Kim Harris (President); Sonya Hardin (President Elect); Jeanie Welch (Secretary); Meg Morgan (Past President), Chris Beorkren for David Walters (ARCH); Richard Toenjes (A & S); Gary Rassel (A & S); Mike Corwin (A & S); Charles Bodkin (BUS); Ken Chen (C & I); David Binkley, ENG; Jackie Dienemann (HHS); Phil Dubois (Chancellor); Joan Lorden (Provost); Tom Reynolds (Dean, Graduate School); Ken Lambla (Dean, College of Architecture); Nancy Gutierrez (Dean, College of Arts & Sciences); Steven Ott (Interim Dean of Business); Ron Smelser for Robert Johnson (Dean, College of Engineering); Mirsad Hadzikadic (Dean, College of Computing & Informatics); Karen Schmaling (Dean, College of Health & Human Services); John Smail (Dean, University College)

Absent (ex officio): Warren DiBiase (EDUC); Amanda Harmon (LIB); Carol Runnion (Acting University Librarian); Mary Lynne Calhoun (Dean, College of Education)

Present (unit representatives): Dena Shenk (ANTH); Chris Beorkrem (ARCH); David Edgar (ART); Mark Clemens (BIOL); Tony Stylianou (BISOM); Johnny Graham (CENG); Shawn Long (COMM); Karen Bean for Teresa Dahlberg (CS); Beth Bjerregaard (CJUS); E.E. Balcos (DATH); Ted Amato (ECON); Delores Lee for Jae Hoon Lim (EDLD); Ivan Howitt (ECE); David Murphy (ET); Aaron Toscano (ENGL); Walt Martin (GEOG/ES); Roy Fielding for Tricia Hubbard (KNES); Fumie Kato for Michael Doyle (LCS); Chuck Haymaker (LIB); Doug Pugh (MGMT); Harish Cherukuri (MENG); Jay Grymes (MUSC); Jane Gaultney (PSYC); Jessica Hartos (PHS); Richard Cohen (RELS); Peggy Wilmoth (SON); Lisa Rashotte (SOC); Suzanne Boyd (SOWK); Bill Tolone (SIS); Jo Ann Springs for Lu Ann Jordan (SPED)

Absent (unit representatives): Howard Godfrey (ACCT); Scott Rose (AERO); Veronica Walker (AFRS); Thomas DuBois (CHEM); Jack Culbreth (COUN); Louis Trosch (FINN); Dan Morrill (HIST); Sunil Erevelles (MKTG); Joe Quinn (MATH); Leslie Cook (MDSK); Eddie Johnson (MILSCI); Eddy Souffrant (PHIL); Susan Trammell (PHYS); Saul Brenner (POLS); Bruce Taylor (REEL)

Also present: Wayne Walcott (Academic Affairs); Mary Pat Young (Academic Affairs); Kathi Baucom (Enrollment Management); Ed Adams (Interim Registrar); Cynthia Wolf Johnson (Academic Services); Justin Ritchie (SGA President); Janet Daniel (OASES); Valorie McAlpin (Director, FCTeL); Martha Sanburg (UCAE); Jo Ann Fernald (Director, Disability Services); Steve Clark (Classroom Support); Michael Cato (CHHS); Rowanne Joyner (ITS); Keith Wassum (Business Affairs); Jimmy Grinnell (Bookstore); Sharon Thorpe for Denise Dwight Smith (University Career Center); Julie Putnam (Academic Affairs)

Dr. Harris called the meeting to order at 12:35. She thanked the William States Lee College of Engineering and Dean Johnson for supplying the refreshments.

1. Approval of the Minutes of the February 21, 2008, meeting of the Faculty Council

Dr. Dieneman moved and Dr. Clemens seconded that the minutes be approved as distributed. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Motion to Award Degrees (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden moved and Dr. Shenk seconded that the Faculty recommend to the Chancellor that appropriate degrees be conferred on all candidates who have met the established requirements of the Faculty since December and that the degrees have an award date of May 2008. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Motion to Award Posthumous Degrees (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden moved and Dr. Springs seconded that posthumous Master of Arts in Teaching in Elementary Education degrees be awarded to Ms. Jennifer Elder and Ms. Jodi Melnik at the 2008 May Commencement. The motion passed unanimously.

4. UNC Tomorrow (Dr. Kim Harris)

The Faculty Executive Committee moved that the Faculty Council encourage UNC Tomorrow task force chairs to include more non-administrative faculty on task forces. Dr. Toenjes seconded. Discussion followed. Dr. Lorden stated that the campus response to UNC Tomorrow is due May 1. The campus response will be put online, and collaborative software will be used for comments. There will be two video conferences (March 27, 10 am – 12 pm and April 1). Discussion followed. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Report from Classroom Support (Mr. Steve Clark)

Mr. Clark reported on behalf of the Classroom Support Advisory Committee which recommends that the campus adopt the Interwrite Learning PRS RF Response system. Dr. Smail moved and Dr. Clemens seconded the Committee's recommendation. Discussion followed. The motion passed by majority vote. It was recommended that the Faculty Center for Teaching and eLearning hold workshops to train faculty.

6. Report on Carnegie Community Engagement (Dr. Owen Furuseth)

Dr. Harris stated that Dr. Furuseth was unable to attend. She reported that the deadline to be notified in April 1. A UNC Tomorrow task force is working on this.

7. Report of the Chancellor (Dr. Phil Dubois)

Dr. Dubois reported on the following:

- a. The construction of the new front entrance is progressing.
- b. Funding is available to complete nine stories of the proposed 11-story Center City Building.
- c. The Planning Committee for student housing is at phase 9 to begin a 500-bed residence hall.
- d. The Chancellor is planning legislative lunches with local legislators.
- e. New buildings--\$57,000,000 for the EPIC building for civil and electrical engineering; \$12,000,000 in planning money for the new science building.
- f. The master planning process is beginning; there will be an open forum during the Fall semester of 2008.
- g. BB&T Foundation gift to the Belk College of Business—The conditions of the \$1,000,000 gift from the Foundation were discussed. The former Dean of the Belk College had agreed to the conditions of the grant, including the naming of the Ayn Rand Reading Room, the creation of a course on the philosophical basis of capitalism, the inclusion of *Atlas Shrugged* in course readings and copies of *Atlas Shrugged* as gifts to business students, and funding speakers for the Center for Applied and Professional Ethics. The conditions of the grant had not been cleared through the Development Office or the Chancellor's office. Discussion followed.
- h. Parking—Campus parking is not supported by state funds, only through fees and fines. 10% of fines can be kept on campus. Transportation (the shuttle service, safety escort service, and additional security guards) can be taken from these funds. There are 600 underutilized parking spaces on the periphery of the campus. Campus parking fees are being increased for 2008-09 to \$295 for a parking permit and \$100 for a gate card; student fees will include a \$6 fee for the campus shuttle. Discussion followed. Mr. Keith Wassum of Auxiliary Services stated that parking tokens for the visitor's deck are \$3.00.

8. Report of the Provost (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden urged faculty members to submit their textbook requests to the campus bookstore on time.

9. Report of the President Elect (Dr. Sonya Hardin)

Dr. Hardin submitted the slate of nominees for 2008-2009. Jeanie Welch agreed to run for Secretary.

10. Report of the President (Dr. Kim Harris)

No report.

11. New Business

None.

The meeting was adjourned at 2 pm.

Jeanie M Thelek

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanie M. Welch

Secretary of the Faculty