Faculty Council Cameron Applied Research Center 101 April 21, 2005

Present (ex officio): K. Harris, R. Booth, J. Welch, R. Toenjes, D. Bosley, M. Hudson, C. Bodkin, D. Hancock, K. Daneshvar, M. Allen, C. Hamaker, J. Lorden, T. Reynolds, A, Dykeman, K. Lambla, S. Lyons, C. Wiggins (for C. Lilly), M.L. Calhoun, R. Johnson, K. Schmaling

Present (unit representatives): C. Blanthorne, C. Grech, S. Brenner, L. Mellichamp, S. Park, T. DuBois, J. Graham, A. Freitag, J. Frazier, L. Abrams, R.R. McGregor, E. Braun, B. Rudes, A. Newman, J. Hartos, A. Jung, A. Gonzalez, L. Stickell, E. Jernigan, J. Quinn, R. Coger, C. Hutchison, J. Grymes, Y. Raja, L. Calhoun, M. Green, E. St. Clair, D. Shenk, A. Raja, D. Test

Present (unit alternates): P. Wilmoth (for L. Steele), J. Kuhns (for J. Hartman), J. Diemer (for W. Martin)

Also present: C. Sanders, M.P. Young, K. Baucom, R. Yount, S. Ives, G. Howard, C. Lynch, D.D. Smith, J. Putnam

Dr. Kim Harris called the meeting to order at 12:40 pm. Dr. Harris thanked Dean Lambla and the College of Architecture for providing refreshments. [Applause]

1. Approval of the Minutes of the March 17, 2005 meeting of the Faculty Council

Dr. Shenk moved and Dr. Bodkin seconded that the minutes be approved as distributed. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Presentation by the Provost (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden presented the departmental Excellence in Teaching Award to the Department of Sociology and Anthropology. Dr. Brody, Chair of the Department, accepted the award on behalf of the department. [Applause]

3. Recommended Changes to the Faculty Grievance Procedures from the Faculty Employment Status Committee (Dr. Mehdi Miri)

Dr. Harris gave the report for Dr. Miri. Questions followed concerning Sections VII. C. and IX.I. Dr. Allen moved and Dr. Quinn seconded that the recommended changes be adopted. The motion passed unanimously.

4. Recommended Changes from the Faculty Research Grants Committee (Dr. Deborah Bosley)

Dr. Bosley presented the recommended changes. A question and answer session followed. Concerns raised included the composition of the ad hoc committees. Dr. Brenner stated that obtaining external funding may be difficult is some disciplines, especially the arts. Dr. Grech raised concerns from the College of Architecture on items 1.5 and 1.6. Dr. Bosley addressed these concerns and stated that she would take them back to the Committee. Dr. Toenjes moved and Dr. Shenk seconded that the recommendations be adopted. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Harris stated that the changes would have to be incorporated into the Standing Rules of the Faculty Council.

5. Amendments to the Constitution of the Faculty (Dr. Kim Harris)

Dr. Harris reported on the proposed amendments. A question and answer session followed. Dr. Booth stated that #3 should be labeled #2 and should include the President-Elect chairing the O. Max Gardiner Award Committee and the Nominating Committee. Dr. Dawson moved and Dr. Brenner seconded that the changes be adopted. The motion passed unanimously. Dr. Harris stated that the changes will be sent to the entire faculty for a vote.

6. Report of the Provost (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden thanked the Faculty Research Grants Committee for their efforts this year. Dr. Lorden opened the floor for questions. Dr. Bosley inquired about the proposed Uptown building. Dr. Lorden reported on the plans to buy land and to request funding from the State Legislature. Dr. Toenjes inquired about the RPT process this year. Dr. Lorden reported that there were a large number of cases and that the process went smoothly. Dr. Lorden thanked everyone who had served on search committees this year. Dr. Lorden also reported on faculty moving into new offices. [Applause]

7. Report of the President-Elect (Dr. Rosemary Booth)

Dr. Booth reported that our candidate did not win the O. Max Gardiner Award. Dr. Booth also reported the following results of the faculty election:

President-Elect Dr. Meg Morgan
Chair, Faculty Research Grants Committee Dr. Jurgen Buchenau
Chair, Honorary Degree Advisory Committee Dr. Virginia Gil-Rivas
Chair, Graduate Council Dr. Jerry Ingalls
Chair, Faculty Advisory Summer Sessions Committee Dr. Kim Harris

Dr. Newman moved and Dr. Calhoun seconded that the results of the election be accepted. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Booth reported that the Faculty Advisory Planning and Budget Committee must have the performance evaluation of the Provost to the Chancellor by May 15, 2005.

Dr. Booth also reported on the Faculty Assembly. The Faculty Assembly has implemented training sessions for faculty leaders. The shared governance document was approved with modifications. Dr. Booth urged all faculty to view the document on the Faculty Assembly Web site [http://www.ncfaculty.com/html/motions/2005Feb06.htm].

8. Report of the President (Dr. Kim Harris)

Dr. Harris reported that she had invited the Chancellor to Faculty Council meetings. Dr. Harris also reported that she is concerned about faculty members being nominated for offices and/or committees without their knowledge or permission. Discussion followed concerning how to ensure that nominees have given their permission. Suggestions included implementing only self-nominations or having nominees sign a consent form. Dr. Harris noted that Mr. Jamal Briggs, the SGA representative will be graduating. [Applause] Dr. Harris stated that all full-time faculty should attend at least one graduation per year.

Dr. Harris reported that the annual reports of the standing committees are available. Dr. Harris also reported that the reception for Chancellor Woodward will be Friday, April 29.

Dr. Harris thanked the Faculty Council members for their participation and thanked the following people for their support:

Dr. Dick Toenjes, Jamal Briggs, Jeanie M. Welch, and Julie Putnam. [Applause]

Dr. Booth moved and Dr. Raja seconded that the Faculty Council send a letter to Chancellor Woodward, thanking him for his efforts during his tenure as chancellor. The motion passed unanimously. Dr. Harris will draft the letter.

9. New Business

Dr. Mellichamp reported that there is a dinosaur garden at the McMillan Greenhouse.

Dr. Harris passed the gavel to Dr. Booth, the incoming president of the Faculty Council. [Applause] Dr. Booth thanked Dr. Harris for her service as president of the Faculty Council and presented her with a plaque. [Applause]

Dr. Toenjes moved and Dr. Newman seconded that the meeting be adjourned. The meeting was adjourned at 1:55 pm.

Unapproved – To be on the 9-15-05 Faculty Council Agenda For Approval

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanie M Thelek

Jeanie M. Welch

Secretary of the Faculty