Faculty Council Cameron Applied Research Center 101 October 18, 2007

Present (ex officio): Kim Harris (President); Sonya Hardin (President Elect); Meg Morgan (Past President), Richard Toenjes (A & S); Gary Rassel (A & S); Mike Corwin (A & S); Charles Bodkin (BUS); Warren DiBiase (EDUC); David Binkley, ENG); Jackie Dienemann (HHS); Amanda Harmon (LIB); Phil Dubois (Chancellor); Joan Lorden (Provost); Tom Reynolds (Dean, Graduate School); Carol Runnion (Acting University Librarian); Ken Lambla (Dean, College of Architecture); Nancy Gutierrez (Dean, College of Arts & Sciences); Steven Ott, (Interim Dean, College of Business); Mary Lynne Calhoun (Dean, College of Education); Robert Johnson (Dean, College of Engineering); Karen Schmaling (Dean, College of Health & Human Services); John Smail (Dean, University College)

Absent (ex officio): Jeanie Welch (Secretary); David Walters (ARCH); Mirsad Hadzikadic (Dean, College of Computing & Informatics);

Present (unit representatives): Veronica Walker (AFRS); Dena Shenk (ANTH); Chris Beorkrem (ARCH); David Edgar (ART); Mark Clemens (BIOL); Tony Stylianou (BISOM); Thomas DuBois (CHEM); Johnny Graham (CENG); Shawn Long (COMM); Beth Bjerregaard (CJUS); E.E. Balcos (DATH); Jae Hoon Lim (EDLD); Delores Lee (EDLD); Ivan Howitt (ECE); David Murphy (ET); Tony Scott (ENGL); Louis Trosch (FINN); Walt Martin (GEOG/ES); Tricia Hubbard (KNES); Chuck Hamaker (LIB); Doug Pugh (MGMT); Leslie Cook (MDSK); Eddy Souffrant (PHIL); Susan Trammell (PHYS); Jane Gaultney (PSYC); Peggy Wilmoth (SON); Lisa Rashotte (SOC); Suzanne Boyd (SOWK); Bill Tolone (SIS); Lu Ann Jordan (SPED)

Present (unit alternates): Jing Xiao for Ken Chen (C & I); James Frazier (CS); Fumie Kato (LCS); Yuanan Diao (MATH); Kingshuk Bose (MENG); Jeffrey Price (MUSC); Brian Kissel (REEL)

Absent (unit representatives): Howard Godfrey (ACCT); Scott Rose (AERO); Jack Culbreth (COUN); Stan Radchenko (ECON); Dan Morrill (HIST); Sunil Erevelles (MKTG); Eddie Johnson (MILSCI); Saul Brenner (POLS); Jessica Hartos (PHS); Richard Cohen (RELS)

Also present: Susan Sell (Graduate School); Wayne Walcott (Academic Affairs); Mary Pat Young (Academic Affairs); Rowanne Joyner (ITS), Kathi Baucom (Enrollment Management); Justin Ritchie (SGA President); Tim Ernst (SGA); Janet Daniel (OASES); Tina McEntire (Admissions); Connie Martin (Continuing Education); Denise Dwight Smith (University Career Center); Anita Blowers (OSSR); Allie Shukraft (GPSG President); Ted Elling (Student Affairs); Valorie McAlpin (FCTeL); Charles Price (ITS); Charlynn Ross (UCAE); Art Jackson (Student Affairs); Julie Putnam (Academic Affairs)

President Kim Harris called the meeting to order and thanked Dean Karen Schmaling for refreshments

1. Approval of the Minutes of the September 27, 2007 meeting of the Faculty Council

Mark Clemmons moved to approve the minutes of the September Faculty Council meeting; seconded by Dena Shenk. The motion passed unanimously.

2. (moved from agenda item #9 to accommodate Provost Lorden's schedule) Report by Provost and Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs: Joan Lorden Provost Joan Lorden made several announcements to Faculty Council:

- She introduced the new FCTeL Director, Valorie McAlpin.
- She announced the new advising center website and said that preliminary returns of an entering student survey indicated "a big jump in satisfaction" with advising.
- She stated that state laws have tightened up regulations for graduate student travel.
- She presented a motion to support the creation of a new College of Arts and Architecture. Architecture Dean Ken Lambla explained the process and the conclusions of the committee to examine the change. Mark Clemmons moved to support the creation of the new college. Steve Ott seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Introduction of Vice Chancellor for Student Affair: Art Jackson

The new vice-chancellor listed his priorities for his first year at UNC Charlotte:

- To increase retention/graduation rates
- To reach out into the community
- To improve student-based electronic infrastructure; to renovate high rise residence halls; to work on the new student union
- To update technology policies and procedures
- To expand relationships with students, especially peripheral students.

He also announced the opening of Greek Village and the new Brocker Health Center.

4. Freshman Seminar Common Reading Program: Lucy Lepeau

Lepeau welcomed people to participate in the common reading program.

5. FAPSC changes to Academic Integrity Code: Rick Lejk

Lejk explained the changes to the Academic Integrity Code, including changes to the policy on anonymity and self-incrimination.

Faculty Council voted to return the document to FAPSE for further clarification.

6. Report on Campus wide Serial Needs Assessment: Chuck Hamaker

Hamaker announced that over 50 people have contributed to the serial needs assessment.

7. UNC Tomorrow Video

Didn't show the video due to time constraints. However, information about the UNC Tomorrow website was provided (www.nctomorrow.org)

8. Report by the Chancellor: Dr. Phil Du Bois

The Chancellor made the following announcements:

- The 11 forums of UNC Tomorrow are finished. There will be a Faculty Listening Forum on Campus on October 31. President Bowles will be there and he urged faculty to attend.
- The GA long-range enrollment projects, supported by research of Joseph Morreale, predict 29,000 students by 2017.
- This winter, we will start the planning process for land use, given the current plans for known buildings.
- The Football Feasibility Study will hold campus forums; Faulty Council is an important part of this study.
- The building of the new front entrance will begin this fall with an April/May completion date.
- The University has imposed water restrictions on campus with two exemptions: at new construction sites to avoid erosion and on the athletic fields to avoid injuries to players.
- The campus safety plan is waiting for reports on safety at the state/local levels.

9. Report by the President-elect: Sonya Hardin

Hardin announced that proposed post tenure review changes have been forwarded to FESC. Once discussed by FEC, feedback will be sent to Faculty Assembly (FA).

She introduced FA changes and also announced the four UNC Charlotte members of the FA Executive Committee.

10. Report by the President: Kim Harris

Harris noted that changes to the RPT/PTR code will be discussed and these discussions will be forwarded to Faculty Assembly. She also urged all FC representatives to attend the UNC Tomorrow Listening Forum and the Football Forum.

11. New Business

Meg Morgan discussed the Comprehensive Evaluation of the Provost. A questionnaire will go out to faculty the first part of November related to this issue.

Justin Ritchie announced the UNC Charlotte Transit Tax Debate at Harris Alumni Center On Tuesday, October 23rd at 7 PM. The debate features Keith Larson of WBT 1110 and Jennifer Roberts, County Commissioner Chair.

Meg Morgan moved to adjourn the meeting. Warren DiBiase seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 1:55.

Respectfully submitted,

Meg Morgan