Faculty Council Cameron Applied Research Center 101 November 29, 2007

Present (ex officio): Kim Harris (President); Sonya Hardin (President Elect); Jeanie Welch (Secretary); Meg Morgan (Past President), Richard Toenjes (A & S); Charles Bodkin (BUS); Ken chen (C & I); Warren DiBiase (EDUC); David Binkley, ENG); Jackie Dienemann (HHS); Amanda Harmon (LIB); Phil Dubois (Chancellor); Joan Lorden (Provost); Tom Reynolds (Dean, Graduate School); Nancy Gutierrez (Dean, College of Arts & Sciences); Steven Ott, (Interim Dean, College of Business); Robert Johnson (Dean, College of Engineering); Mirsad Hadzikadic (Dean, College of Computing & Informatics); Jane Neese for Karen Schmaling (Dean, College of Health & Human Services); John Smail (Dean, University College)

Absent (ex officio): David Walters (ARCH); Gary Rassel (A & S); Mike Corwin (A & S); Carol Runnion (Acting University Librarian); Ken Lambla (Dean, College of Architecture); Mary Lynne Calhoun (Dean, College of Education)

Present (unit representatives): Howard Godfrey (ACCT); Scott Rose (AERO); Veronica Walker (AFRS); Chris Beorkrem (ARCH); Mark Clemens (BIOL); Tony Stylianou (BISOM); Thomas DuBois (CHEM); Johnny Graham (CENG); Teresa Dahlberg (CS); Beth Bjerregaard (CJUS); E.E. Balcos (DATH); Ivan Howitt (ECE); David Murphy (ET); Tony Scott (ENGL); Walt Martin (GEOG/ES); Dan Morrill (HIST); Tricia Hubbard (KNES); Michael Doyle (LCS); Chuck Hamaker (LIB); Doug Pugh (MGMT); Joe Quinn (MATH); Harish Cherukuri (MENG); Leslie Cook (MDSK); Jay Grymes (MUSC); Eddy Souffrant (PHIL); Susan Trammell (PHYS); Jane Gaultney (PSYC); Jessica Hartos (PHS); Richard Cohen (RELS); Peggy Wilmoth (SON); Lisa Rashotte (SOC); Bill Tolone (SIS);

Present (unit alternates): John Ford for David Edgar (ART); Jing Xiao for Ken Chen (C & I); Lyndon Abrams for Jack Culbreth (COUN); Delores Lee for Jae Hoon Lim (EDLD); Courtney Lynch for Suzanne Boyd (SOWK); JoAnn Springs for Lu Ann Jordan (SPED)

Absent (unit representatives): Dena Shenk (ANTH); Shawn Long (COMM); Stan Radchenko (ECON); Louis Trosch (FINN); Sunil Erevelles (MKTG); Eddie Johnson (MILSCI); Saul Brenner (POLS); Bruce Taylor (REEL)

Also present: Susan Sell (Graduate School); Kathi Baucom (Enrollment Management); Justin Ritchie (SGA President); Janet Daniel (OASES); Tina McEntire (Admissions); Allie Shukraft (GPSG President); Valorie McAlpin (FCTeL)

Dr. Kim Harris called the meeting to order at 12:35 pm. She thanked Dr. Reynolds and the Office of the Graduate School for the refreshments.

1. Approval of the Minutes of the October 18, 2007 meeting of the Faculty Council.

Dr. Morrill moved and Dr. Clemens seconded that the minutes be approved as distributed. The motion passed unanimously.

2. Motion to Award Degrees (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden moved that the Faculty recommend to the Chancellor that appropriate degrees be conferred on all candidates who have met the established requirement of the Faculty since August and that the degrees have an award date of December 2007. Dr. Wilmoth seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

3. Carnegie Community Engagement (Dr. Jeffrey Leak)

Dr. Leak, Department of English and current Faculty Fellow in the Office of Academic Affairs, discussed a new elective classification for community engagement in the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education. A survey will be conducted in 2008, and a committee will oversee data collection and documentation. Discussion followed.

4. Faculty Academic Policy and Standards Committee (Dr. Rick Lejk)

Dr. Lejk moved that the Faculty Council adopt the changes to Policy Statement #105, The Code of Student Academic Integrity, as recommended by the FAPSC. Dr. Toenjes seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

5. Code 603/604 Faculty Employment Status Committee Recommendations Relating to Discharge of Tenured Faculty, Post Tenure Review, *et al.* (Dr. David Walters)

Dr. Hardin and Dr. Morgan spoke on behalf of Dr. Walters who moved that the Faculty Council endorse the recommendation of the FESC to support the Faculty Assembly Executive Committee in opposing the recommended changes to Code 603/604 that were made by the Board of Governors Committee on Personnel and Tenure. The motion was seconded by Dr. Clemens. Discussion followed. The motion passed unanimously.

6. Discussion Concerning Legislation Regarding Smoking (Dr. Kim Harris)

Dr. Harris asked for Faculty Council to recommend a policy on smoking on campus. Dr. Harris had previously requested that Faculty Council members poll their various colleges and departments on the following three possible recommendations:

- i. Banning smoking on campus entirely
- ii. Having designated smoking areas on campus

iii. "Courtesy zones" that ban smoking at a certain distance from building entrances (e.g., 10 feet or 25 feet) or at a certain distance from a building (e.g., 100 feet).

After discussion, Lt. Col. Rose moved and Dr. Toenjes seconded that there be designated smoking areas on campus that are sufficiently isolated from buildings and that they reasonably accommodate smokers (e.g., areas are covered). The motion passed unanimously.

7. Criminal Background Checks (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden stated that beginning with new hires, all finalists for Faculty positions will be subject to criminal background checks. Discussion followed.

8. Report of the Chancellor (Dr. Phil Dubois)

Dr. Dubois reported on the following:

- 1. Tuition and fees—Dr. Dubois recommended to the Board of Trustees that fees be raised 3.67% and that tuition be raised 2.25%. These raises are within the state caps for increases. Discussion followed.
- 2. Funding equity issue—Dr. Dubois stated that he is in discussion with President Bowles concerning equity funding for UNC Charlotte.
- 3. The campus shuttle system will be made permanent.
- 4. The campus escort service has been transferred to the campus Parking and Transportation Department, will be more regulated, and handicapped-accessible vans will need to be purchased.
- 5. The Center City building is in the design phase.
- 6. The *Business Journal* will be publishing an article on the Ben Craig Center, the University small business incubator. The Center will be moved to a new facility on campus on Highway 29 in the future.
- 7. The recent article in *University Times* on the nooses found on campus is inaccurate. He is still awaiting the report of the internal investigation before taking any further action.

9. Report of the Provost (Dr. Joan Lorden)

Dr. Lorden reported on the following:

- 1. The deadline for book adoption is December 15.
- 2. The UNC in DC program for students to intern in Washington, DC will continue for another three years.
- 3. There will be a meeting at UNC Chapel Hill in January on the new Carnegie community engagement classification. Volunteers are needed for the team.

- 4. One of the uses for the funding from the tuition increase is to improve the retention and graduation rates. This comes from the UNC Tomorrow initiative. Attention will be given to the needs of transfer students.
- 5. Redesigning larger classes will also be studied.

10. Report of the President Elect (Dr. Sonya Hardin)

None.

11. Report of President (Dr. Kim Harris)

None.

12. New Business

None.

13. Adjournment

Dr. Toenjes moved that the meeting be adjourned. The motion passed unanimously. The meeting was adjourned at 2:00.

Respectfully submitted,

Jeanie M Skilch

Jeanie M. Welch Secretary of the Faculty