Open Positions in Faculty Governance Spring 2015 Elections

Date Published: 
February 20, 2015

To:          UNC Charlotte Faculty        

From:    Faculty President-Elect Jeffrey Leak

Re:         Call for Nominations for 2015-2016 Faculty Governance Positions        


Dear Colleagues,

The Faculty of UNC Charlotte are charged with the responsibility for making policy decisions regarding the curriculum, academic standards, and the allocation of internal research funds. We are also charged with important advisory responsibilities regarding our working schedule and conditions, the university budget, facilities planning, administrative appointments, and other elements of institutional policy and operation that touch us directly and indirectly.

These responsibilities are carried out through a system of shared governance which constitutes the framework within which we can carry out our own work, and contribute to the overall academic mission and culture of UNC Charlotte.  Faculty participation in governance is what we have to do in order to retain the autonomy to conduct our research, teach our students, disseminate knowledge, and build the academic community in ways we see fit. 

Please consider how you or someone you respect might become part of the shared governance process at UNC Charlotte.  Nominate yourself or another qualified faculty member for any of the following openings. (If you don't want to think of it as service to the institution, think of it as furthering the long-term interests of yourself, your discipline, and the faculty at large!)

A brief description of each committee listed below can be found at:

To make a nomination send email to  Please submit all nominations by March 11, 2015.

  • President-Elect**
  • Secretary**, one-year term
  • Chair**, Faculty Advisory Summer Sessions Committee (FASSC), two-year term
  • Chair**, Faculty Employment Status Committee (FESC), two-year term
  • Chair**, Faculty Information and Technology Services Advisory Committee (FITSAC), two-year term
  • Chair**^^, Graduate Council, two-year term                             
  • Hearing Committee**: Five (5) members, four-year term
  • Grievance Committee**: Five (5) members, four-year term
  • Bank of America Award for Teaching Excellence Committee: One (1) member, two-year term
  • Faculty Assembly Delegate: Two (2) delegates, three-year term
  • Honorary Degree Advisory Committee: Three (3) members, two-year term

** Nominees must be tenured members of the Faculty.

^^ Nominee must be a member of the Graduate Faculty.


If you'd like to ask about any of these positions, please call or write to me.

All the best,




Jeffrey B. Leak, Ph.D. | Director | Center for the Study of the New South | Fretwell 280D

Associate Professor | Department of English

UNC Charlotte | 9201 University City Blvd. | Charlotte, NC 28223

Phone: 704-687-0025 | Fax: 704-687-3196